Of me, from me


You opened your eyes

and gazed at me

“h’mm, so this is you”,

you seemed to say.

You had never seen me

yet none could’ve been closer

if I wept, laughed, ate or slept

you knew it all.

And then it was time

for us to meet

hours of effort before

you were here.

I held you in my arms

grateful & happy, awed

at the wisdom in your

just born eyes.

Of me, from me

you are now just you

this mother’s blessings

forever with you.

(Verses Challenge Day 5)

Author: sandhya mendonca

outpouring of occasional whimsies

1 thought on “Of me, from me”

Leave a Reply

